skip to primary navigationskip to content

Professor Barry Everitt receives a Lifetime Achievement Award

last modified Aug 09, 2012 04:26 PM
British Association for Psychopharmacology Lifetime Achievement Award 2012

Professor Barry EverittAt the 2012 annual meeting of the British Association for Psychopharmacology, which took place in late July in Harrogate, Professor Barry Everitt was presented with the British Association for Psychopharmacology Lifetime Achievement Award 2012.  Professor Everitt was the President of the British Association for Psychopharmacology from 1992-1994.  The annual meeting programme said of Professor Everitt:

"Barry has worked in the area of Psychopharmacology for more than 40 years and continues his research as Professor of Behavioural Neuroscience, University of Cambridge. He is also Master of Downing College, Cambridge. He has published 377 papers and his h-index is 94. He was elected Fellow of the Royal Society in 2007 and Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences in 2008.

Barry served as President of the European Brain and Behaviour Society (1998-2000) and of the European Behavioural Pharmacology Society (2003-2005). He was Elected Foreign Corresponding Member of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology in 1999. He has been an ISI “Highly Cited” Researcher since 2004 and he is frequently invited to give plenary lectures at major international conferences. He has acted as advisor on Psychopharmacology to several countries including Spain, Finland, the Netherlands, Sweden and France. He was recently awarded the American Psychological Association’s Award for Distinguished Scientific Contributions (2011) and the 2012 FENS EJN Award (given in recognition of “outstanding scientific work in all areas of neuroscience”).

Barry Everitt 2012Barry’s research has contributed immensely to our understanding of the neural mechanisms of reward, drug-seeking behavior and relapse. His work has had a tremendous impact on the field, for example he is among the world’s 100 most highly cited neuroscientists. He has been and is in receipt of programme grant funding from major UK competitive grant awarding bodies.

Barry served on the Medical Research Council (MRC) Neurosciences Grants Committee from1990 to1994 and on the MRC Research Studentships Panel from 1994 to 1997 (Chair, 1995-1997). He was on the MRC Advisory Board from 1997 to 2000 and the MRC Neurosciences and Mental Health Board (2001-2005). He has also served on many editorial boards including: Science (Reviewing Editor (2005-), Physiology & Behaviour - Editor-in-Chief (1994-1999), Psychopharmacology, Behavioral Neuroscience, Behavioural Pharmacology, Journal of Psychopharmacology and Neuroscience and Biobehavioral Reviews.

Barry is a longstanding member of BAP and member of Council (1984-1996). As Secretary in 1986 he recruited Susan Chandler and he was BAP President 1992-1994. Barry has made major contributions to the organisation of BAP conferences (including hosting joint meetings) and has been a member of the Editorial Board of Journal of Psychopharmacology since its inception."

Professor Everitt's colleagues at the newly instituted Department of Psychology join together in offering him warm congratulations on the occasion of this Award.

Professor Everitt receives FENS-EJN Award.